National Weather Service has issued ice storm warning for parts of WNY

Published April 14, 2018 at 8:17 AM

The National Weather Service has issued an ice storm warning for Niagara, Orleans, Monroe, Erie, Genesse, Wyoming and Livingston counties, including the cities of Niagara Falls, Medina, Rochester, Buffalo, Batavia, Warsaw, Geneseo, Orchard Park, and Springville.

The warning is in effect from 2 p.m. on Sat., 4/14 until 2 p.m. on Sun., 4/15. 

Significant icing and gusty winds are expected, with a total accumulation of around 1/2 inch of ice. Power outages and tree damage are likely due to strong winds and ice. Travel will be difficult at times due to ice-covered surfaces and possible downed tree limbs and powerlines. If you are traveling on or between UB campuses, please use precaution. UB officials will continue to monitor the weather and will provide updates as they become available.